top of page

Another Hashtag (Alton Sterling Open Letter)

February 26, 2012 Trayvon Martin, July 17, 2014 Eric Garner, August 9, 2014 Mike Brown, April 12, 2015 Freddie Gray, July 13, 2015 Sandra Bland, this year Alton Sterling. What do they have in common? African Americans killed by our law enforcement who are suppose to protect & serve those in need but I guess that slogan does not apply to all. It's crazy how a man with a badge is becoming more of a threat to me than anything else that could possibly kill me, at first it was my own race but now I don't know who will kill me when I leave outside. I'm feeling multiple ways about yet another police shooting and the hashtag black lives matter. Indeed all lives matter but at this point its not everyone its black. Are you guys familiar with the term random sample? A random sample is a subset of a statistical population in which each member of the subset has an equal probability of being chosen. Another one, are you guys familiar with genocide? Genocide, the deliberate killing of a large group of people, especially those of a particular ethnic group or nation. We all know what happened during the holocaust right? They say history repeats itself and I don't know if I'm the only one paying close attention to what's going on but each cop that got away with this is going to be another cop in another state that's going to try the same thing because they know in their head that they are going to get away with it. That's what I meant by random sample when I mentioned it. Everyday is just another hashtag but is anyone doing anything about it. We have all the energy to say "Fuck twelve" in the songs we hear or tweet black lives matter but is that really doing anything. Whether you agree with me or not you know deep down it's true. Not to mention everyone is anger so they want to resolve in violence but thats not the answer to everything. You want to riot in the streets but what is that benefitting? In my head I just want to leave the united states, I never asked to be live in the white man's country. America is filled with hate and racism, prayers goes out to Alton Sterling's family. Alton may be gone but his spirit flows within the world along with Trayvon, Eric, Mike, Freddie, and Sandra we have not forgotten about you guys. As for my black brother's and sister's be safe.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page